Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Top Ten Tuesday #1 Top Ten Books That Are On The Top Of My TBR List For Autumn

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week bloggers participating create a Top Ten list based on that week's theme. This week's theme is Top Ten Books That Are On The Top Of My TBR List For Autumn. And here is my Top Ten

Sister, Missing by Sophie McKenzie
This is the sequel to Girl, Missing, one of my all time favourite books. I so cannot wait to read it!

Marshmallow Skye by Cathy Cassidy
Sequel to Cherry Crush, an amazing book! I saw it in the bookshop yesterday, and I was thinking to myself, I NEED THIS! 

Ask Amy Green:Love and Other Drama-Ramas by Sarah Webb
Ask Amy Green is one of my favourite series ever, so I'm looking forward to when this is published.

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
I've heard amazing things about this one, and it looks  brilliant!

Palace of the Damned by Darren Shan

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
I've heard this is amazing, and I've had it on my shelf for a while. I have to get round to reading it at some point!

Delirium by Lauren Oliver
This is supposed to be brilliant, and I've had it for ages but haven't read it!

Pretty Little Liars: Perfect by Sara Shepard
This series is intriguing, I'm looking forward to reading this when I can.

The Medusa Project: The Rescue by Sophie McKenzie
Another Sophie McKenzie book! I've been told this is the best in the series, and can't wait to start it.

Angel Fire by L.A. Weatherly
I liked Angel but for some reason, never wrote a review for it! This comes out in October.

There you go! My first Top Ten Tuesday. It was quite fun! I think I'll do it more often! Tell me in the comments what you think of my list, and what books you're looking forward to reading this Autumn.

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

CHERUB:The Recruit by Robert Muchamore

A terrorist doesn't let strangers in her flat because they might be undercover police or intelligence agents, but her children bring their mates home and they run all over the place. The terrorist doesn't know that a kid has bugged every room in her house, cloned the hard drive on her PC, and copied all the numbers in her phone book. The kid works for CHERUB. CHERUB is not James Bond. There are no master criminals or high-tech gadgets. CHERUB kids live in the real world. They slip under adult radar and get information that sends criminals and terrorists to jail. For official purposes, these children do not exist.

Meet James Adams. He is a couch potato until the day his mother dies, and he is sent to live in a care home, and his beloved little sister Lauren is taken in by her hating father. And then James is recruited by CHERUB. CHERUB is a secret organisation set up by the government which uses kids aged ten to seventeen to go on secret missions, but no-one suspects them, because, who suspects kids? 

You know, I've never actually read a spy book. Yes, I know, unbelievable as I'm such an avid reader, and as there's so many out there! But even though I haven't read any other book like The Recruit, I honestly don't think you could get  better! It's AMAZING! It's action-packed, and there's always something happening, so you never get bored. You can't put it down!

The Recruit is told in third person, which I think is better in action books, but you still really felt with James, if you know what mean. I liked him, but he wasn't a particularly interesting character. I really liked his friend Kerry, I thought she was so great! I'd love to be friends with her! And James's little sister Lauren, whom unfortunately we didn't get to see a lot of, seemed like a character with a lot of potential. Hopefully we'll get to see more of her in future books. I thought the relationship between the characters was fantastic too, especially between James and Kerry, and James and Lauren.

I honestly think this is one of the best books I've read! Ever! It was brilliant the way the book told about James'  'boot camp' and introduced CHERUB, but also about his first mission. I thought it was just going to be all about the spy training and even though that would have been enjoyable, it wouldn't have been very exciting. So I was delighted when  James did the mission. It added hugely to the story.

Muchamore's writing is just fantastic! It's really compelling. Straight away when I had finished reading The Recruit, I wanted more! I was really regretting not getting the first two books in this series at the library. And then, guess what? I went to the library last week, and they didn't. Even. Have. The. Second. Book. I was like, nooooooooooooooo!

Would I recommend this? Yes. To whom? Everyone? Is it just a boys book? No way! I think boys and girls alike will enjoy it, as long as they're aged above about 12. It's enjoyable, original, exciting and damn right amazing! Please, please read this. You won't regret it. Seriously.  And I just thought there,this, or another book in in the series,  would make such a brilliant movie! I hope that happens some day.... WAIT! Just Googled it, The Recruit is becoming a movie! Woooh! But according to Wikipedia there's no set release date or anything, so it probably won't be out for a while :(

So, people of the world, if you haven't already, get down to your local bookshop and get yourself a copy of The Recruit. I think you'll like it :)

                                                        Rating 5/5

Source: Library
Pages: 352
Age Group: 12+
Official Publication Date: 15th April 2004
Publisher: Hodder Childrens Books
Author Website: www.muchamore.com or www.cherubcampus.com

P.S. Sorry about the white background on some of the text,  I don't know what it is so I can't get rid of it! Does anyone know how to fix it, by any chance?...

Sunday, August 21, 2011

In My Mailbox #13

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren where bloggers show what book they received that week, via mailbox, library, bought, borrowed or any other way. It's a great way to see who's reading what so make sure you head on  over and join in!

Borrowed (from my awesome friends Sinead, Emer and Orla. They gave me the books on the condition that I mentioned them in my IMM post :D)

Spy Girl:Out of the Shadows
Spy Girl: Once Upon a Crime
I've never heard of these before, but they sound really fun!

My So-Called Life by Joanna Nadin
I already have read about 50 pages of this, and I didn't really like it, so  I don't think I'll be finishing it.

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
I've never read a Dessen book (don't judge) but I've heard they're amazing and I've looking forward to giving this a go. And, LOOK AT THAT COVER!

CHERUB:Maximum Security by Robert Muchamore
I've read the first in this series, and I LOVED it, and even though this is the third book, I'm going to try and get the second one, Class A, from the library as soon as I can.

Scarlett by Cathy Cassidy
After reading Lucky Star, which was BRILLIANT, I read this one straight away and I completely 
loved it!

Life at the Shallow End by Helen Bailey (not pictured)
I've already read a bit  of this and it's hilarious! I think I'm going to like it :)

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S Lewis
This volume has all seven books, and I really can't wait to start it because I loved the movies, and, well, they're classics!

Across the Universe by Beth Revis
I was really surpised to find this at the library, but delighted too! I've heard it's amazing. I can't wait to read it. 

Matched by Ally Condie
I've heard mixed things about this, but I'm looking forward to reading it and deciding for myself.

Rose and the Lost Princess by Holly Webb
I enjoyed the first book in this series, Rose, so I hope I like this too.

Stardust by Neil Gaiman
I recently watched this AMAZING movie, and it was adapted from this novel, so this is going to be my next read, definitely!

Spiderwick Chronicles: Book 3 Lucinda's Secret by Holy Black and Tony DiTerlizzi
Already read and loved this :)

The Palace of Laughter by Jon Berkeley
I got this from the library a couple of years ago but never got around to reading it. It sounds magical, and it was only 2euro at a charity shop, so I had to get it!

The Curious Incident of the Dog In The Night-Time by Mark Haddon
This was only 1euro in a different charity shop! Bargain or what! I'm reading it now ans it's unlike anything I've read before.

Zodiac Girl:Double Trouble by Cathy Hopkins
I got this and the below book in a 2 for 5euro deal. Bargain week! I love this series and Hopkins other books.

Forget Me Not by Anne Cassidy
I've never read a YA crime novel, or any of Anne's books before, but I've heard they're amazing, and this does sound it, and I am eager to begin reading it.

I didn't have enough time to do an IMM post last week, so I got double this week! The first picture is the books I got last week and the second is the ones I got this week. I'm sooooooooo happy! Yay for Narnia and Across The Universe! So what did you get in your mailboxes?

Friday, August 12, 2011

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Look, I didn't want to be a half-blood. I never asked to be the son of a Greek God. I was just a normal kid, going to school, playing basketball, skateboarding. The usual. Until I accidentally vaporized my maths teacher. That's when things started really going wrong. Now I spend my time fighting with swords, battling monsters with my friends, and generally trying to stay alive.
This is the one where Zeus, God of the Sky, thinks I've stolen his lightning bolt - and making Zeus angry is a very bad idea.
Can Percy find the lightning bolt before a fully-fledged war of the Gods erupts?

I'm really interested in Greek mythology. I find it really fascinating. I also like really funny books, with a good plot, good twists, good characters, and good writing. Fortunately, The Lightning Thief was all of these things! I've never read a book like it, it was brilliant!

Percy was hilarious! He took the most serious, battling-with-the-gods moments, and made a joke out of them. It made me giggle the way he annoyed the gods with his smart mouth. I thought he was the perfect protagonist, kind, loyal, brave and funny! I loved his friendship with Annabeth and Grover. He and Annabeth's bickering had me laughing. But Percy would do anything for her, and Grover and vice versa. I really liked Annabeth. She annoyed me a bit at first though, I thought she was an irritating know-it-all. But she turned out to be an awesome, independent, headstrong female heroine! And I do love me a strong female heroine. Grover was sort of a Ron Weasley. Completely lovable. A bit annoying at times, but the best friend you could have. I wish he was my friend :( Actually, now that I think about it, Percy, Grover and Annabeth are a bit like Harry Ron and Hermione. You know, three best friends saving the world from evil, with a little bit of romance put in for good measure. I don't think that's a bad thing though, like Riordan-copied-Rowling, I'm just observing.

I have to be honest, it was a bit hard to get into at the beginning. I found it sort of confusing. But after a couple of chapters it started to get exciting, and I was hooked!
Riordan writing style is fantastic. He really makes you believe Percy, Grover and all the rest of the characters are real. The descriptions are perfect too, I could imagine everything like it were happening right in front of me. The action scenes were excellent. Action scenes in a lot books aren't described very well, it's just a load of chaos! - but in The Lightning Thief they were detailed and exciting. Really, I can't praise this book enough!

There's a really shocking twist near the end, I really wasn't expecting that! I liked the ending, and although it doesn't finish on a cliffhanger,but it does set up for the rest of the series, and leaves the reader wanting more. Lots more! I can't wait to read Sea of Monsters, the next book in the Percy Jackson series. Also, has anyone seen the movie? It looks really good! Comments please :)

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief is one of my favourite books, and I highly recommend it to fans of fantasy, adventure, and Greek mythology. Everyone should read this book! It's original, funny and absolutely un-putdownable!  

                                                    Rating: 5/5

Source: Library
Pages: 1st May 2008
Age Group: 9+
Official Publication Date: 384
Publisher: Puffin
Author Website: www.rickriordan.com or www.percyjackson.co.uk

Sunday, August 7, 2011

In My Mailbox #12

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren where bloggers show what books they received that week, via mailbox, library, bought, borrowed, or any other way. It's a great way to see who's reading what, so make sure you head over and join in! 

For Review
Day of the Assassins 
Day of Deliverance
Day of Vengeance by Johnny O'Brien
I received these as part of a blog tour for Day of Vengeance that I'm participating in in September. They look great, don't they?! I've just begun reading the first one, and I'm enjoying it so far! 
The Fool's Girl by Celia Rees
I got this out from the library once but never got around to reading it. I can't wait to begin it this time! I won this from Celia Rees herself, and it come with a lovely bookmark and postcard, so 
thanks Celia!

That's my mailbox this week. I'm quite happy with my books. :)
What did you get in your mailbox? 

Monday, August 1, 2011

In My Mailbox #11

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren, where bloggers show what books they received through their mailboxes, from the library, bought and any other way. It's a great 
way to see who's reading what, so make sure you head over and join in!

The Help by Kathryn Stockett
The Owl Service by Alan Garner

Don't Judge a Girl By Her Cover by Ally Carter
The Nine Lives of Chloe King by Liz Braswell (trilogy)

Apologies for this IMM's lateness! I was away. And, unfortunately, I'm going away for another three days tomorrow :( Well, not really unfortunate, because holidays are great, but it's bad that I can't post! I'm actually going to be gone a good bit during this month, so expect here-and-there posts. Anyway, I'm quite happy with the books I got this week :). I've already read and loved Don't Judge a Girl... and am reading The Help now. Sorry for not doing a proper post with pictures and stuff, I just don't have the time right now. I might update it tomorrow. 
What did you get in your mailboxes?