Sunday, January 30, 2011

Swapped by a Kiss by Luisa Plaja

I wish I wasn't myself anymore.
I wish I was her.
I wish I was Jo.
Rachel hates her life. When her on/off boyfriend David goes to a music festival she decides to surprise him - but she gets a shock of her own. Not only does she find David kissing someone else, but it's their friend Jo! Super-lovely, super-loved, all-round-perfect Jo.
Rachel runs away, wishing she could leave her life behind - and she suddenly finds herself in Jo's body! Can she keep this swap a secret? Can she unravel what's really going on? Can she get to grips with Jo's out-of-control curly hair? 
And if she discovers that being in someone else's shoes isn't all it's cracked up to be, can she ever be herself again?
I've read Split by a Kiss, one of Luisa's other books, which I loved, so I was really excited to read this book. And I was right, because I think this is Luisa's best book yet!( Well, considering I haven't read Extreme Kissing but still....)

Tori wasn't my favourite character in this book, because I thought seemed even more vain than in the last one. She just got on my nerves sometimes. But her ditziness was hilarious at times! This time around, my favourite character was definitely Rachel. In the last book I didn't like her because she just seemed like some moody girl that was mean to Jo. But hearing things from her point of view really changed my mind.

Rachel was so insecure, and I felt really sorry for her. She thought she was fat, and that no-one liked her, and it was just awful hearing her hate herself so much. ( OK, I know she's not real, but she seemed real to me!) She was cynical, which was actually very funny, when you get over the mean part! But towards the end, she starts to be nicer to people, and realises she can make more friends by just being  herself.

This is honestly probably one of the funniest books I've ever read! I haven't read many books that have actually made me laugh out loud. But Luisa Plaja is just such a fantastic author, it's hard not to laugh!

My rating? 5/5, no question about it! One of my new favourite girly reads, sure to cheer you up and make you laugh when your feelin' down! Hehe! I love that word. Feelin'. OK, random. Bye bye! And make sure to get your copy of Swapped by a Kiss NOW!

Age Group: 12+
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Official Publication Date: 29th April 2010
Author Website: Chicklish

Thanks so so soooooo much to Luisa for sending this to me to review!

This review was done as part of the British Books Challenge 2011 hosted by The Bookette.

Saturday, January 29, 2011

Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy

" With his sunglasses gone there was no denying the fact that he had no face. All he had was a skull for a head."

Stephanie's uncle wrote horror fiction - at least that what she thought until he died and left her his estate. Ten she discovered that though his books may have been horror, they weren't exactly...fiction.

Plunged into a terrifying world of vampires and Hollow Men, Stephanie finds help from the remarkable Skulduggery Pleasant: wise-cracking detective, powerful magician, sworn enemy of evil. Oh yes. And dead.

It's been a while since I've discovered a good fantasy series. I've been bored reading the same Harry Potter and Darren Shan series over and over, and I was delighted to discover the fantastic, witty Skulduggery Pleasant.

The characters were the best quality of the book. Each was as funny as the next, especially Skulduggery and Stephanie. Skulduggery was just like Stephanie, and that's probably why they didn't get on so well! Stephanie was really sarcastic, and it did get a little annoying at times how negative she was, but I still liked her. It was Skulduggery though that really stole the show. Instead of being comforting when something bad was happening, he would tell it how it was, normally in the most amusing way possible. All the time!

The beginning and end were brilliant and gripping, but parts in the middle were really boring, and I actually stopped reading it for a while and began a different book. And when I started again, I skipped a bit of it, just to get it over with. But in the end it all payed off!

I would give this book....4/5. I was originally planning in giving it 3/5, while I was reading the middle part, but the it got better. I loved how the book was set in Ireland (the awesomest country! LOL!). I think you should definitely read it if you like fantasy, but you love funny books too. Skulduggery Pleasant is brilliant, and I have the next two books right now (yay!) and I can't wait to start them!

Age Group: 10+
Publisher: Harper Collins Publishers
Official Publication Date: 02 April 2007

Friday, January 28, 2011

Weekly Wanted: Wishlist Wonders #4

Weekly Wanted is a weekly meme hosted by The Mile Long Bookshelf and Booktastic Reviews.


1. Post up 3 books that you can't wait to read or wish for.
2. Post up the synopsis/blurb.
3. Post up a picture of the front cover.

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to centre stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, with a nearly magical grin. One boy takes Lennie out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But the two can't collide without Lennie's world exploding...
My Invisible Boyfriend by Susie Day
Geeky fangirl Heidi, 15, has a great fantasy life thanks to her TV and her laptop - and no wonder, when she's stuck at the boarding school for crazy drop-outs where her parents teach, with only acake-shop Saturday job to escape to. At least she's got her best mates - but when they all start coupling up, Heidi needs a boyfriend - and fast. Enter Gingerbread Ed, a sexy lovemuppet with a motorke. He'd be perfect - if he actually existed. Heidi's mad online ife collides hysterically with her real one in a laugh-out-loud uber-cool teen novel.

Cherry Crush by Cathy Cassidy

Cherry Costello’s life is about to change forever. She and Dad are moving to Somerset where a new mum and a bunch of brand-new sisters await. And on Cherry’s first day there she meets Shay Fletcher; with suntanned skin and sea-green eyes he’s the kind of boy who should carry a government health warning. But Shay already has a girlfriend, Cherry’s new stepsister, Honey. Cherry knows her friendship with Shay is dangerous – it could destroy everything. But that doesn’t mean she’s going to stay away from him...

That's this weeks Weekly Wanted! More reviews up soon, hopefully of a couple of these books!

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Eva's Journey by Judi Curtin

Rich, spoilt, high-maintenance Eva Gordon likes fancy, sophisticated things so when her parents sell their sell their holiday home and their expensive car Eva can't understand why. But when Eva's dad loses his job and she has to move house and change schools, she realises life has changed for good. She's determined to hate her new life, until a chance visit to a fortune teller gives her the idea that doing good may help her to get her old life back. Eva (with the help of her friend Victoria) starts to help all around her, whether they want it or not! This is the story of "Eva's Journey" from spoilt princess to pretty cool girl.

Judi Curtin is one of my FAVOURITE authors ever. I loved her Alice and Megan series, and was eager to read Eva's Journey. And it didn't disappoint! I think this is one of Judi's best book yet!
I haven't actually read a book about the recession before, even though I probably should have, because it's been going on for almost two years now. It was a great storyline and very relevant, because thousands of children in Ireland are going through the exact same thing as Eva and, or worse, and can really relate. I think this would really help them to see that you really can be happy without loads of money. Although, apparently this wasn't the moral of this story, it was 'you shouldn't kick stone walls when your wearing flip-flops'!
I thought Eva was a complete brat at the beginning, and she really irritated me with her 'I'm so much better than you' ways. And then she thought that by doing a few good deeds, she would be rich and 'happy' again. But (predictably), she did improve as the story went on.
My favourite character was Ruby, the shy unsociable girl that Eva was kind of friends with. I felt really sorry for her, having to manage a busy stall all on her own, and she was only twelve. There was a great plot twist involving h Ruby, that I so wasn't expecting!
Overall I thought the book was fantastic, 5/5. I finished it in under a day, it was so good! I know it was aimed at a slightly younger audience than me, but I still enjoyed it. Fabulous book, everyone should read it. It would be a great quick read, but it makes you think a little. Fabulous book, Judi and I hope you write more soon!
P.S.Hey guys, sorry for asking yet another question, but does anyone know how I can stop double spacing? This is the first time it's happened an it's really annoying. Oh, and thanks to Rachel for your comment in the last post. It helped!
Age Group: 9+
Publisher: O' Brien Press Ltd.
Official Publication Date: 20 September 2010
Author Website:

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Reviews Coming Soon!

Hey everybody! Coming soon on Bookster Reviews, there will be....

  • A review of Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy
  • A review Swapped by a Kiss by Luisa Plaja
  • A review of Entangled by Cat Clarke
  • A review of Withering Tights by Louise Rennison
  • A review of Seriously Sassy by Maggi Gibson
  • A review of Eva's Journey by Judi Curtin
  • Sophia Bennett Sequins Stars and Spotlights blog tour-interview and giveaway! Come back on the 1st of February to see.
Wow, that's a lot of reviews I have to do! How many? It's.....1234....56. 6 book reviews! I'm looking forward to that! Check back soon for reviews and more.

By the way, you know when you follow a blog, and you come up as a follower with the little picture and your name? Well, I have somehow managed to make myself have no picture and no name. Smart me! Does anyone know how to change it so I can get a picture (and name) again? Thanks guys!

Friday, January 21, 2011

Weekly Wanted: Wishlist Wonders #3

Weekly Wanted: Wishlist Wonders is a weekly meme hosted by Amber at The Mile Long Bookshelf and Rachel at Booktastic Reviews. Make sure you head on over and take part!


1. Post up 3 books that you can't wait to read or wish for. 

2. Post up the synopsis/blurb.
3. Post up a picture of the front cover.

This weeks three books are.....

Seriouly Sassy by Maggi Gibson

Thirteen-year-old Sassy is a true twenty-first century girl. She's puzzling out the mysteries of parents, boys and why people can't be more like dolphins, and confronting big questions like ...Can she become a singer - songwriter and save the world too? (More importantly, can she get Dad to pay for a demo?) Should she trust her dolly-goth best friend to give her a makeover without making her look like one of the undead? And does sharing a chocolate chip muffin with Magnus Menzies mean true love, or just a mid-morning snack?

Skate School: Ice Princess by Kay Woodward

Capturing the glamour, heartache and triumphs of Junior Olympic figure-skating, this stunning new series whisks readers off to, quite literally, the coolest boarding school on earth. Francesca Willis is sharp, funny and quirky, but let's face it, pretty average...until you see her blades hit the ice. Then Frankie is truly spectacular. Frankie's love and flair for ice-skating means she's dedicated to practising at her local ice-rink every morning, teaching herself the hottest moves and the toughest spins. And her dreams look like they might come true when she is offered a place at team GB's Olympic training school, far from home in the idyllic Swiss mountains. But while the school boasts world-class tuition and promises sporting success, its super-privileged pupils are so cool they're practically sub-zero. Frankie's going to have to work hard to form friendships and fine-tune her talent in this fiercely competitive environment. After all, Frankie has talent, dedication and passion - but does she have what it takes to be a winner? A gripping new boarding school series with added ice, "Skate School" combines ambition, competition, friendship and fun. This compulsively cool read is sure to inspire budding sports stars everywhere - just in time for the Winter Olympics!
The Crazy Things Girls Do For Love by Dyan Sheldon
High school is pretty predictable – there are the geeks, the hipsters, the princesses, the jocks... But when Cody Lightfoot – smart, handsome, cool and with a passion for the environment – joins the school, everything changes. Suddenly the craze for green living is everywhere as the girls and boys of Clifton Springs pull out all the stops to impress him and outdo each other in the run up to Earth Day. But as they go to more outrageous and crazier lengths, they start to wonder whether Cody is worthy of all their attention – and whether saving the world might just be more important than impressing a boy.
That's this weeks Weekly Wanted! Hope you like the books! = )
Cliona xxx

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

The Medusa Project: The Set-Up by Sophie McKenzie

Fourteen years ago, scientist William Fox implanted four babies with the Medusa gene - a gene for physic abilities. But Fox died and the babies were hidden away for years.

Now they're teenagers - and unaware that their physic  powers are about to kick in.

Cocky, charismatic Nico thinks his emerging telekinetic abilities will bring him money., power and the girl of his dreams. He's about to find out just how wrong he is...

I've read one of McKenzie's books before, Girl, Missing, and I LOVED it! So I was really eager to read this one. The Medusa Project series has been recommended to me before, but I was told that The Set-Up wasn't as good as the others, because (hence the name), it was kind of setting the scene for the other books, so there wasn't as much action. But I thought that there was plenty of action scenes, so I really enjoyed it.

To be honest, I didn't really like any of the characters. They were all quite annoying. Well, if I had to pick my favourite, it would probably be....Fergus, Nico's step-dad and the principal of the boarding school he attends. At the beginning of the story, Fergus seems to be over-protective and controlling of Nico, but in the end it turns out he was -sort of - right. But the rest of the characters I just didn't like.

My overall rating is...4/5. Or 5/5. Hmm, which one? I know, 4.5/5! Perfect! It lost the 0.5 because of the character quality .Or rather lack of character quality. But regardless, I would recommend it, and am looking forward to reading the next book in the series, The Hostage. You know, almost all books nowadays have sequels, don't they? Not that it's a bad thing, I'm just saying. But still.
Well, bye wonderful readers!

Age Group: 11+
Official Publication Date: 06 July 2009
Publisher: Simon and Schuster Ltd.
Author Website:

This review was done as part of the British Books Challenge, which you can find out about at The Bookette.

Friday, January 14, 2011

Weekly Wanted: Wishlist Wonders #2

Weekly Wanted is a weekly meme hosted by The Mile Long Bookshelf and Booktastic Reviews.


1. Post up 3 books that you can't wait to read or wish for.
2. Post up the synopsis/blurb.
3. Post up a picture of the front cover.

Kiss, Date, Love, Hate  by Luisa Plaja
What if you could change your friends' lives and loves through the settings of a computer game?
Lex Murphy's group of friends have all dated, hated, ignored and lusted after each other for the last few years. If only there was a way of matching people perfectly to avoid all the unrequited love, dumping and drama! Then Lex's friend George is given a mysterious Sims-like game by his software-testing dad which involves building character profiles in the categories of Life, Looks and Love. Lex and George populate the game with avatars for all their mates, making a few 'wishful thinking' adjustments to the settings - and find that the next day these tinkerings have come true in real life! 

But how long can this new calm, loved-up atmosphere continue?
( There is currently no cover available  for this book) 

The Medusa Project: The Hostage

Fourteen years ago, four babies were implanted with the Medusa gene - a gene for psychic abilities. Now teenagers, Nico, Ketty, Ed and Dylan have been brought together by government agents to create a secret crime-fighting force - The Medusa Project. But now Ketty's brother Lex has stumbled into a dangerous game involving his boss and a hidden bomb. It's up to Ketty to save him without letting on what she knows to the rest of the team. But can she control her psychic visions, and her feelings for Nico, without getting the team's cover - and herself - blown sky high?

Checkmate by Malorie Blackman

Can the future ever erase the past? Rose has a Cross mother and a nought father in a society where the pale-skinned noughts are treated as inferiors and those with dual heritage face a life-long battle against deep-rooted prejudices. Sephy, her mother, has told Rose virtually nothing about her father, but as Rose grows into a young adult, she unexpectedly discovers the truth about her parentage and becomes determined to find out more, to honour both sides of her heritage. But her father’s family has a complicated history – one tied up with the fight for equality for the nought population. And as Rose takes her first steps away from Sephy and into this world, she finds herself drawn inexorably into more and more danger. Suddenly it’s a game of very high stakes that can only have one winner…

So there's this week Weekly Wanted' 
Hope you like the books!

Cliona xxx

Monday, January 10, 2011

Cinnamon Girl: Looking for a Hero by Cathy Hopkins

India Jane is feeling frustrated. She thought that Joe was her soulmate, but things seem to be going nowhere with him. Perhaps what she feels for him isn’t ‘love’ after all – whatever that is. Gathering her friends around her, she sets out to find the boy of her dreams by Christmas.Her exploration is pretty disastrous, but just when she is in total despair, two gorgeous boys surface.Looking for love turns out to be a lot more complicated than India Jane thought.

Cathy Hopkins is one of my favourite authors, but I haven't read any of her books in ages = ( I thought of her the other day while in the library, and picked this up. Would you believe, this was the ONLY Cathy Hopkins book there? I know! 

Looking for a Hero the third book in the Cinnamon Girl series, in which there are altogether four books. I've read Starting Over the second book, and I liked it, but I liked this one much better!

India Jane thinks she loves Joe, but then he tells her he doesn't want to be in a serious relationship and leaves poor India all confused. So along with her three best friends, Leela, Brook and Zahrah, she sets out to find a boyfriend by Christmas. But it's harder than it sounds, and soon India is caught up in a love triangle - or love square, is more like it...

I said love square because India has not two boys but three boys in her love life. There's Bruno, the romantic Italian boy, Tyler, the boy who saved her when she was mugged and Joe, who she just can't deny her feelings for, even though she knows he won't commit... 

I think the author was kind of hinting in a reading-between-the-lines kind of way that India liked Zahrah the best out of her friends, because Zahrah was a deep, thoughtful person, like India and they got on well. I didn't like Zahrah at first, because I thought she seemed a bit mean, making smart comments, but I was wrong. Zahrah turned out to be my favourite character in the end, as well as Dylan, India Janes little brother. He was really funny and I wish he was in it more!

My only complaint was that I thought India was making a huge deal about nothing when it came to Tyler. I mean, she was mugged, he got the bad guys to go away, and then he brought her home. She met him for five minutes, and then it was suddenly 'Oh why didn't Tyler come back and become my boyfriend?' Eh, hello! And it was a little predictable, because you knew which guy she was going to pick. But apart from that is was fabulous!

Overall, this book gets a rating of 4/5. It's a light, girly read that I read in one day. It's hilarious and written well and I really enjoyed it. I definitely recommend it, especially if you need cheering up. Good job, Cathy! ( I always say that, don't I?!)

Age Group: 11+
Official Publication Date: 22 May 2008
Publisher: Piccadilly Press Ltd.

This review was done as part of the British Books Challenge ,hosted by The Bookette.

Thursday, January 6, 2011

Weekly Wanted: Wishlist Wonders #1

This is a brand new weekly meme hosted by Amber at The Mile Long Bookshelf and Rachel at Booktastic Reviews.


1. Post up 3 books that you can't wait to read or wish for.
2. Post up the synopsis/blurb.
3. Post up a picture of the front cover.

Here are my books for this week:

Arrow by R.J Anderson

"Rhosmari trembled as the Empress walked over to her. ‘Oh, do not struggle. There is nowhere for you to escape,’ the Empress said, her voice silken and sweet. Then she unsheathed a small dagger from her waist. ‘This will only hurt a little...’

Rhosmari has lived her whole life on a sheltered chain of faery islands. But with the Empress's power growing, and her desire to enslave the entire faery race becoming a reality, Rhosmari knows she must fight back..."

Della Says OMG! by Keris Stainton

Della has had a crush on Dan since she was tiny. When her sister throws a going-away party and Dan suddenly shows an interest in Della, she can't believe her luck. She kisses him, and it could be the start of a wonderful relationship... if she wasn't so worried about the fact that she hasn't seen her diary since the party. Then extracts from her private life start to appear all over the place. Someone clearly has Della's diary, and they have it in for Della. Who is it? And can Della still make things work with Dan with all this going on?

Matched by Ally Condie

Watched by SOCIETY, Trapped by RULES, Freed by LOVE?"

Seventeen year old Cassia Reyes has been brought up in a strict Society. A Society that makes all of her decisions, who she will love, what she will wear, where she will work... On the night of her Match Banquet she is matched with one of her friends and it seems like there could be no better Match but when she finds herself falling in love with another boy Cassia decides that she wants to make some decisions of her own.

"And that's when her whole word begins to unravel . . .

There's this weeks three books. I will post this meme again next week. Make sure you visit The Mile Long Bookshelf and Booktastic Reviews and join. 

Girl, Missing by Sophie McKenzie

Lauren is adopted and eager to know more about her mysterious past. But when she discovers she may have been snatched from an American family as a baby, her life suddenly feels like a sham. Why will no one answer her questions? How can she find her biological mum and dad? And are her adoptive parents really responsible her kidnapping her?

Lauren runs away from her family to find out the truth, but her journey takes her into more and more danger - as she discovers that the people who abducted her are prepared to do anything to keep her silent...

OMG.OMG.OMG. This book is amazing! And I mean, amazing! I haven't read an adventure story this good since....Harry Potter! I borrowed it from a friend, and she told me that it was probably her favourite book. I wasn't convinced at first, because I didn't really like the cover. Yes, the cover is probably this books weakest point. But after reading it I realised that's it. There are no other weak points! None! I loved loved LOVED it!

The book is narrated by 14-year-old Lauren, who is adopted. Her adoptive mum and dad have never told her who her real parents were, and she has never asked. While surfing the web, she stumbles across a MissingChildren website, and she's bored so she types 'Lauren' into the search box. The search finds a three-year-old Martha Lauren Purditt, a girl who went missing 11 years ago, and just two months before Lauren was adopted. Her description seems to match what Lauren looks like. After comparing some baby pictures to the one on the website, Lauren begins to wonder: is she really this girl Martha? Suddenly, Lauren is thrown into a world of secrets, lies and danger, as she sets out along with her friend Jam, to find out who she really is - in more ways than one...

Girl, Missing is written brilliantly, which loads of clever plot twists. It's hard to say too much without giving anything away. My favourite character was Madison, Laurens....well, I can't really say who she is, because she doesn't come into the book until around the middle, during a major twist. But, if you've read the book (and you should!) you'll know why I like her so much. I felt really sorry for her too (again, if you've read the book, you'll know).
Lauren comes across as a bit selfish at times, but underneath, she really is a good person. I thought Jam coming along with her on her quest really helped her to persist and stay strong (quest - I sound so old-fashioned!). I also liked the romance element, as I felt it helped make the book appeal to more people.

5/5, for sure. It's actually one of my new favourite books, and Sophie McKenzie is one of my new favourite authors. She really makes the characters come alive on the page and you find yourself wishing you could join them. Everyone should read this book! I think it will appeal to all ages above 11, as there is some mild swearing.
All in all, it was absolutely superb and I will definitely be reading more of McKenzie's books soon.

Age Group: 11+
Official Publication Date: 02 October 2006
Publisher: Simon and Schuster Ltd.
Author Website:

I am doing this review as part of the British Books Challenge 2011, which you can find out more about at The Bookette. Oh, and sorry about the fuzzy photo guys!

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Author Appreciation: Darren Shan

Darren Shan is an Irish teen fiction author, born on 2 July 1972. He is most famous for writing The Saga of Darren Shan, a teen fantasy series about half-vampire Darren Shan, and his adventures with his master Mr. Crepsley. The series consists of 12 books, and  has been published in 37 countries around the world. He has also written another series for teens called The Demonata ,which consists of ten books. The Demonata is about the demon world and the adventures of the demon-fighting humans. Darren has written one standalone novel called The Thin Executioner and has started a new series, The Saga of Larten Crepsley, a prequel series to The Saga of Darren Shan. Birth of a Killer, the first book, was published in September 2010 and the sequel, Oceans of Blood, is due out in May 2011. Darren has also written a trilogy for adults, under the name of  Darren O' Shaughnessy.

Darren is one of my favourite authors ever! I think he is brilliant. He is definitely my favourite fantasy author, and I've read all of his books, apart from the adult ones, and Birth of a Killer, which I am currently reading (and it's awesome!). I started reading The Demonata a few years ago and fell in love with it instantly, so I decided to read Darrens other books. I didn't think he could top the amazing Demonata, but oh, I was wrong! I loved ...Saga of Darren Shan just as much, if not more! I have to say, I think The Thin Executioner is probably Darrens weakest book so far. It's not bad as such, just...not as good. Birth of a Killer is also so far super, but to be honest, I don't think Darren will write any more books as marvelous as the first two series. I'm not saying they'll be bad! - but just not as good.

In conclusion, I definitely recommend you read all of Darrens books  although not if you get scared easily, as their is some scary scenes! Apart from that, if you like fantasy, read his books! Darrens website is here and he has a blog here. I hope you like them! Bye bye xxxx

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

Split by a Kiss by Luisa Plaja

Jo has never been one of the popular kids...until she moves to the USA. Suddenly the coolest girls at her new high school adopt her, and the hottest boy, Jake Matthews, notices her. But when Jake picks her as his partner in the kissing game Seven Minutes in Heaven, it's not half as heavenly as she imagined! 

Jo has a choice: should she carry on with Jake for guaranteed popularity - or should she tell him where to get off and risk losing her new friends...? 

At this moment - Jo splits. She's Josie the Cool - girlfriend of Jake, member of the in-crowd. But she's also Jo the Nerd - rejected by the It girls, single...ordinary. Will her two halves ever come together again?

OK, I don't normally talk about covers in my reviews, because I don't think covers are a books most important quality. You know the old saying - don't judge a book by it's cover! But is this one of the awesomest covers I have ever seen! Isn't it? The cover is actually what made me want to read the book in the first place! I was looking at some blogs and I saw it and I said to myself 'Wow. I want to read that.' And I did, and now I'm happy! Very happy, actually!

Jo is the main character in the book, but then in a way there's kind of two main characters, because she's sort of two different people. This is hard to explain! That's one of the reasons I love this book,  that Jo gets to experience both ends of the social food chain - at the same time. It's like, you know when you have two choices, and say you pick Choice 1 and then you wonder what might have happened if you had picked Choice 2? Well, it's not like that for Jo. She might have some problems in her life, but at least she's not faced with that one!

My favourite character is Tori, Josie the Cool's best friend. She might be in with the cool crowd, but she still is nice, really. I really hated Kristy, the mean, catty girl in the group. Well, I suppose they were all mean (except Tori) but she was the worst.  Apart from the cool crowd, I pretty much liked all the characters.

The book is hilarious and really entertaining. I actually found no faults at all with this book - really! And I normally find at least one fault with a book, so it just shows you how brilliant this book is! 5/5, definitely. It's super and everybody should read it. It's chick-lit and with the supernatural element to it, so there's something for everyone. I'm so glad there's a sequel, Swapped by a Kiss, and I will be reading it as soon as possible.

A big, huge thank you to Luisa, for sending me a review copy of this book!

Age Group: 12+
Official Publication Date: 06 March 2010
Publisher: Random House Childrens Books
Author Website: Chicklish

I'm doing this review as part of the British Books Challenge 2011, and you can find out more about it at The Bookette